HomeQuickLinks ­ FAQs ­ Schools FAQs

Schools FAQs

Are the public schools in Johns Creek run by the City?

No. All public schools in Johns Creek are part of the Fulton County School System, which was founded in 1871 and is one of the oldest and largest school districts in Georgia.

How many public schools serve Johns Creek students?

Beginning with the 2009/2010 school year, a total of 19 public schools (4 high, 4 middle and 11 elementary) will serve the school-aged residents of Johns Creek.

What public high schools (9th -12th grades) serve Johns Creek?

Centennial HS, Chattahoochee HS, Johns Creek HS and Northview HS.

What public middle schools (6th-8th grades) serve Johns Creek?

Autrey Mill MS, Haynes Bridge MS, River Trail MS and Taylor Road MS.

What public elementary schools (K-5th grades) serve Johns Creek?

Abbotts Hill ES, Barnwell ES, Dolvin ES, Findley Oaks ES, Hillside ES, Medlock Bridge ES, Northwood ES, Ocee ES, Shakerag ES, State Bridge Crossing ES and Wilson Creek ES.

What about Pre-K programs?

The State of Georgia provides a free, voluntary Pre-K program funded by The Georgia Education Lottery. Children four years of age on September 1 of the current school year, whose parents are Georgia residents, are eligible to attend the Georgia Pre-K Program during that school year.

Some public elementary schools and some child development centers in Johns Creek offer the Georgia Pre-K program. Please check with your area public elementary school or find a Pre-K program in your area.    Because participation is voluntary on the part of both public schools and private child development centers, there may not be enough spaces in every community for all four year olds who wish to participate.

For more information, call 404-656-5957.

How do I register my child for public school in Johns Creek?

Complete registration information can be found on the Fulton County Schools site.

Who establishes public school attendance zones in Johns Creek?

Fulton County Schools establishes school attendance zones, designating which schools students should attend based on their residential address.

How do I confirm which public school my child should attend?
See the attendance zones on the Fulton County School website.

What is the Fulton County School Board?

The Fulton County School Board interprets the education needs and aspirations of the community, formulates policies and manages the school system in accordance with federal and state laws. It is made up of five elected members who represent the public schools in the five districts in the system.

Johns Creek is in which Fulton County School District?

Johns Creek overlaps both School District 5 and School District 2.

Who represents Johns Creek schools on the Fulton County School Board?

Board members Katie Reeves (District 2) and Linda McCain (District 5) represent Johns Creek.

What are school clusters?

The Fulton County School System utilizes school clusters to build a sense of community. Each cluster includes a high school and its middle and elementary feeder schools. Cluster representatives meet five times a year with school principals to discuss community issues and plan activities.

What is the HOPE Scholarship?

HOPE – Helping Outstanding Pupils Educationally – is Georgia's scholarship and grant program. It offers students who've demonstrated academic achievement financial assistance in degree, diploma and certificate programs at eligible Georgia colleges, universities and technical colleges.

HOPE Scholarships awarded for college students attending Georgia public institutions cover tuition, HOPE-approved mandatory fees and a book allowance. Partial tuition is covered for Georgia private institutions.