HomeNews & Events ­ News Archive ­ 2014 News ­ Leadership Johns Creek celebrates fifth graduating class

Leadership Johns Creek celebrates fifth graduating class

June 26, 2014

Leadership Johns CreekLeadership Johns Creek celebrated its fifth year June 12 with a graduation ceremony for the Class of 2014, commemorating a nine-month-long process that benefited the Johns Creek community.

Leadership Johns Creek, comprised of individuals from the business community, government and nonprofit agencies, is designed to give leadership training and development to class members.

The 2014 class, split into three teams, completed three group community projects. "Hero's Team" completed a community-wide day of service called "Hero 4 a Day" which cleaned up four residence exteriors and included a road clean-up.

Another project, led by "Team No Limits," was the installation of a public art mural in a walking path tunnel at Newtown Park.

The third group project, led by "Awesome 7," was the creation of a website that houses volunteer opportunities with local organizations and non-profits.

The Leadership Johns Creek Class of 2014 graduates are: Cheri Akselsen, Kathryn Albright, Robin Buckley, Lee Dawkins, Nazeera Dawood, Angela Harvey, Shirley House, Jared Jones, Bethany Lavigno, Corrine Lindo, Vonda Malbrough, Chad McGiboney, Dawn Melin, Nick O'Day, Adedapo Odetoyinbo, Isaac Phillips, Debra Proulx, Idris Talib, Litsa Theodoridis, Stephen Vorbeck, Angel Walker, Travis Watkins.

Johns Creek Mayor Pro Tem Kelly Stewart spoke during the ceremony and congratulated the class members on their efforts.