Home » News » News Archive » 10/5/2007

2007 News Archive 


Autrey Mill Nature Preserve receives $286K in grants

AT&T, Wal-Mart join state to aid historic Johns Creek site

Longtime community volunteers at Johns Creek's Autrey Mill Nature Preserve & Heritage Center will join Mayor Mike Bodker Tuesday, Oct. 9, as State Rep. Mark Burkhalter presents the city with a Georgia Department of Community Affairs Local Assistance Grant for $269,000 to restore the park's historic buildings. In addition, the Autrey Mill Nature Preserve Association will receive general support grants from AT&T and Wal-Mart.

They'll be joined by special guests Fulton County Commissioner Lynne Riley, members of the Johns Creek City Council, AT&T Director of External Affairs Virgil Collins, Wal-Mart Sr. Mgr., Public Affairs Glen Wilkins and Pope Consulting President Karen Pope for ceremonial presentations of the grants at 1 pm that afternoon at the park.

Turn-of-the century houses, stores, churches and buildings that were to be demolished in different parts of north Fulton County were re-located to the 46-acre site over the last 10 years with the goal of creating a historic village within the Heritage Center.

"We appreciate the dedication and hard work of Rep. Burkhalter in obtaining these grants, which will allow us to finally restore these buildings and show visitors to Autrey Mill what it was like to live in this area in 1900," said Association Vice President Cheryl Bowlin.

Grant donation ceremony, reception, park tour
Autrey Mill Nature Preserve & Heritage Center
9770 Autrey Mill Road, Johns Creek, GA 30022
(off Old Alabama Road across from the Country Club of the South)

Autrey Mill Nature Preserve & Heritage Center was purchased by the City of Johns Creek in 2007 from Fulton County. It is leased by the Autrey Mill Nature Preserve Association, whose mission is to provide the public with an educational resource to gain knowledge, enjoyment, appreciation and a sense of stewardship of the natural and historical environment of north Fulton County.